Hong Kong Style French Toast (西多士)

HK French Toast

Anybody who has a sweet tooth have tried French Toast before. A lot of them know how to make French Toast at home. There are so many varieties of French Toast from different cultures. Their use of different toppings and fillings are both creative and delicious in every bite. People crave for this dessert no matter how it is made. It is just that magical.

I have good memories of Hong Kong Style French Toast. It was one of the few luxury treats I could afford back then. Whenever I needed to treat myself to something special,
I would go to this café restaurant close to the apartment building where we were renting. Not paying attentions to anybody, I just sat there all by myself, enjoying this golden, glorious French Toast in front of me; that was the good old days.

Before I came to the U. S., I invited my Grandma and Grandpa to the café. My Grand-parents were amazed at how much they enjoyed the delicious sweet bread. With creamy peanut butter in between two slices of thick bread, pan fried to perfection, topped with I-dare-you-not-to-like-me butter and sweet milk. Yes, that was the insanely good, authentic version of HK French Toast, aka 西多士. The three of us shared the French Toast together. Now I wish I had ordered more. That was the last time I had French Toast in Hong Kong and the last but best memories I had with my Grandparents. Smart people always say, live everyday like it is your last because you never know what will happen tomorrow. I whole heartily agree.

Back to reality, thirty years later, here I am making HK style French Toast at home in America. Luckily, this dessert is so easy to make. With just a few simple ingredients, you can make a restaurant quality HK French Toast at home with little efforts and lots of enjoyment. Lynard and I love this amazing treat. We have it for breakfast on weekends.

Hong Kong Style French Toast – 西多士

Spread a layer of creamy peanut butter on one slice of the bread, top with the other slice (plain). Put aside. If you don’t like the crust, use a knife to cut it off.

HK French Toast_2

In a container, about twice the size of bread, whisk together eggs, milk, salt and vanilla extract. Soak both sides of bread in the egg mixture, about 30 seconds each side. It will get soggy if you soak it too long.

HK French Toast_3

In a frying pan over medium heat, add 1 to 2 tablespoons oil. Gently put the soaked bread in the hot pan, cook until golden brown on both sides, about 2-3 minutes on each side. Transfer the Peanut Butter French Toast to a plate, serve with butter and syrup on top. Um! Um! So good.

 

Print recipe:

Hong Kong Style French Toast (西多士)

  • Servings: 2 | Recipe by Leslie at Soups Ahoy
  • Print

HK French Toast_print_4

Ingredients and Instructions

1/4 cup creamy peanut butter spread, as needed
4 slices bread, thick, 1 to 2 days old white bread
3 large eggs, beaten
1 1/2 tablespoons regular whole milk
1/2 teaspoon pure vanilla extract
Small pinch of salt
1 1/2 tablespoons oil for cooking
Butter as needed for serving
Pancake syrup as needed for serving

Spread a thin layer of creamy peanut butter on one slice of the bread, top with the other slice (plain). Use a knife to cut off the edges.

In a container, about twice the size of bread, whisk together eggs, milk, salt and vanilla extract. Soak both sides of bread in the egg mixture, about 30 seconds each side. It will get soggy if you soak it too long.

In a frying pan over medium heat, add 1 to 2 tablespoons oil. Gently put the soaked bread in the hot pan, cook until golden brown on both sides, about 2-3 minutes on each side. Transfer the Peanut Butter French Toast to a plate, serve with butter and syrup on top. Um! Um! So good.


All Rights Reserved © soupsahoy.wordpress.com
Printed from  https://soupsahoy.wordpress.com/2015/04/25/hong-kong-style-french-toast-西多士/

Leave a Comment

